F. No. A-12017/27/GRAP/2021-CAQM-VOL.-II/2957-65 Commission for Air Quality Management in NCR & Adjoining Areas 17th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhawan (STC Building)

Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110001

Dated 13.12.2021

ORDER

In the wake of adverse air quality in NCR, the Commission through its various Orders under Graded Response Action Plan (GRAP) including Direction No. 44 has directed for complete ban on the use of DG Sets, except for emergency purposes. The exceptions for operation of DG Sets for emergency purposes have been detailed out in the Sub-Committee on GRAP's Order No. A-19017/45/CAQM-GRAP/2020-21 dated 28.10.2021.

For the purpose of imparting further clarity in the matter, henceforth the following shall only be categorized as emergency purposes/services, for which DG Set operation shall be permitted as exception in NCR, whenever such orders for banning/stoppage of use of DG Sets are in force:-

- Medical Services (Hospital/Nursing Home/Health care facilities) including 1. units involved in manufacturing of life saving medical equipments/devices, drugs and medicines
- Elevators/Escalators/ travelators etc. in various installations 2.
- 3 Railway Services/Railway stations
- Metro Rail Corporation Services, including trains and stations 4
- Airports and Inter-state Bus Terminals(ISBTs) 5.
- Sewage Treatment Plants 6.
- 7. Water pumping Stations
- National Security/Defence related activities/Projects of national importance.

All Enforcement Agencies of NCR are requested to give wide publicity to this Order and ensure compliance of the Commission's directions accordingly.

In case, an activity/service other than those mentioned above warrants use of DG Sets, the agency concerned will approach the Commission with full justification for seeking its approval.

> (Arvind Nautiyal) Member Secretary 011-23701197

E-mail: arvind.nautiyal@gov.in

To

Member Secretary, CPCB 1.

- 2. The Member Secretary SPCB, Haryana
- Member Secretary SPCB, Uttar Pradesh 3.
- Member Secretary SPCB, Rajasthan 4.
- 5. Member Secretary, DPCC

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Haryana
- 2. The Chief Secretary, Government of Rajasthan
- 3. The Chief Secretary, Government of Uttar Pradesh
- 4. The Chief Secretary, Government of NCT of Delhi